My Senses Settle

In the evening.

David Rudder
For Awe

--

Photograph thanks to Julie Beasley.

My senses settle in the evening
Soft sunlight before the day is done
Printed in pastels dappled in daydreams
Subtle hues left by remnants of the sun

In the autumn when leaves turn golden
And wood smoke drifts on the valley floor
White mists disappear into hollows
Nature taps quietly on winter’s door.

Pictures of perfection painted in pastels
The verdant hills are softened in the shade
By the fingers stretching over the landscape|
The last shards of light the sun has made.

My energy is softened by the seasons|
The need for warmth from the winter chill
New clarity and glitter in the nighttime
And the ecstasy of lying warm and still.

The crackle of the fire in the evening
Glowing embers dancing in the dark
The hypnotic effect on the senses
Of each flame ignited by a spark.

Perfumes of the night drift from the garden
Subtle scents infiltrate my dreams
Evocations from

--

--

David Rudder
For Awe

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.