Photo Louloua Asgaraly

I Have Created a Jungle Inside a Slum

ASGARALY LOULOUA
For Awe
Published in
2 min readFeb 8, 2024

--

Living near a slum is not easy at all. Not only the noise of the children living near by, but also the problem is that people, there, destroy anything you plant or grow.

Two years ago, I tried to create a little greener place on the pathway of my house in this slum. When I began to prepare the soil to put some trees, it was not really easy. Many residents of the slum came to see and with the fear that they will do anything bad, I put around the fence for protection.

. Photo Louloua Asgaraly

The initial time, I placed two locks, I was certain that they would attempt to open them due to curiosity.

Every morning I am going now to explore this little and serene garden. The trees have become bigger, and they are already giving me flowers. This year, I decided to also put three bee hives.

And in March 2023, I got some honey, not too much because I have just put them and I was not expecting to have honey … It was just truly a good surprise.

ASGARALY LOULOUA

MADAGASCAR

--

--

ASGARALY LOULOUA
For Awe

Illustrator from Paris, I am also doing watercolor