The Breath

Of Autumn breezes.

David Rudder
For Awe
1 min readJun 29, 2024

--

Photo by Cole Keister on Unsplash

The breath of autumn breezes
Wafts past my inner senses
Tripping and dropping
To invade my meek defences.

Transported by the wind
Cares cast and liberated
Fall as leaves on the ground
Is released and exonerated.

Winter whispers in my ear
Golden leaves seesaw to earth
I lean and hear them calling
In awe and minds of mirth.

With each death and passing
There is a new beginning
Autumn’s winds meld into warmth
Spring new hope and yearning.

From the centre of the hearth
My senses follow the seasons
I hear summer pull the curtain
And never ask the reasons.

Then bathes the room in sunshine
Sanctified reborn and ready
Selective senses crowd emotions
Then spiral in an eddy.

The raindrops of my memory
Sparkle in recognition
The fire set in my heart
Ready for ignition.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
For Awe

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.