Traces

On my mind.

David Rudder
For Awe
1 min readSep 7, 2021

--

Photo thanks to Julie Beasley.

Though you’ve gone into the hills
You’ve left traces behind
Something in the air’s still there
Your presence is on my mind.

Thoughts float past my memory
Of moments spent together
Changes and subtle nuances
Like edges of the weather.

Our moods combined personify
Each swift and transient thought
Deep inside the web of love
Where both of us are caught.

I know the traces linger
And merge with evening light
And roam into the nighttime
In moods of sheer delight.

I feel that when you’re gone
You’re never far away
If it’s a week or month
Or only for a day.

I trace you with my mind's eye
Your mystery moves in shadows
Heard moving through the air
On tips of Cupid’s arrows.

Come back soon I iterate
I miss our warm embraces
Though I know you are still here
By myriads of traces.

©

David Rudder
12th July 2013

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
For Awe

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.