Meditation and ADHD: Breathing my way back from distraction

Jessica Covington, fit-ology ADHD coach
for/by
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2023
A woman sitting cross-legged on the floor.

When I would talk about meditation and ADHD, I would often be met with some pretty confused looks. And I understood why. For the most part, people wondered how someone whose mind was constantly consumed with racing thoughts could enjoy sitting still.

All minds tend to wander. Some minds wander farther (and faster) than others. It’s natural and it’s nothing to be ashamed of. I’ve learned that it actually makes for a great opportunity to practice meditation.

Despite common misconceptions, there’s no “correct” way to meditate. Knowing this helps me to break free of my inner critic when it starts yelling, “You’re not doing it right!”

So, I remind myself that “All minds wander; it’s natural.” I do this by practicing mindfulness. It’s a practice that results in the physiological benefits of deep breaths, dopamine, and objectively measurable growth in the prefrontal cortex (the area of the brain most associated with ADHD).

When I meditate, or practice mindfulness, I set out to shift my attention from the myriad thoughts swirling in my mind back to the “object of meditation,” also known as the breath. This helps me to redirect my attention back to where I want — and in most cases need it to be.

It’s unrealistic for me to begin a meditation believing that I won’t be distracted. So, I fully accept that I just might. And I release the shame. I don’t need to feel awful about getting distracted. Because when I do lose my focus, there’s only one thing to do about it: come back to the breath.

The more I practice mindfulness meditation, the better I feel. The more I practice, the better I’m able to select which thoughts are helpful and which ones I can let go. The more I practice, the more I’m able to choose better paths forward and notice more of the joy and beauty that life holds.

Meditation doesn’t “cure” ADHD. But it is a helpful practice for its symptoms. At least for me it is.

This for/by piece was brought to you by Understood.

--

--

Jessica Covington, fit-ology ADHD coach
for/by
Writer for

Mom, wife, realistic optimist at heart with a very Busy Brain. I’m a holistic health coach for #ADHD. subkit.com/adhdstrengthhub