My learning disability was my “weakness” until it became my strength

Emily Walsh
for/by
Published in
3 min readAug 2, 2022

One of the most common questions asked during any kind of interview is, “What are your strengths and weaknesses?” And through the years, my answer has been simple and straight to the point. My biggest weaknesses are my learning challenges, including dyslexia.

I always questioned my ability to process and retain information. In elementary school, I remember thinking, “How is it that my classmates understand everything so quickly and I don’t?” I was called names by classmates who saw me as someone who was dumb or needed to be in the “special class.”

“I desperately wished to be the girl who understood how to understand.”

And my struggles didn’t stop in the classroom, either. They followed me back home — affecting my attempts to do homework every night. It seemed to be a never-ending cycle. I had nightly temper tantrums out of pure sadness and frustration. I desperately wished to be the girl who understood how to understand.

And then I got my “wish.”

I started going to Windward School — the place that would change my life for the better. Windward School specializes in teaching children with language-based learning disabilities. They offered the support I had longed for.

I’ll be honest. I was very nervous about attending a new school. Being in the fifth grade, having to make new friends, and adjusting to new learning styles. It was a lot to take in. But for some reason, I felt right at home. I know, it’s kind of crazy to say that you feel at home in a school setting. But I truly did.

At the time, I wasn’t exactly sure what was so different about the way I was being taught. But what I did know was that it was working. I was finally starting to understand concepts and feel comfortable enough to do my homework assignments without a tantrum. Most importantly, I was becoming a more confident version of myself — both in and out of the classroom.

When it was time to enter high school, I was incredibly nervous about leaving Windward. I was leaving the place that helped to shift me into a stronger, more confident me. I was leaving the school that focused so intently on seeing me succeed despite any learning challenges. But even with all of the unknowns ahead of me, I was certain about one thing: Windward had given me the tools I needed to thrive in this next chapter of life.

I often reflect back on my childhood and how, through a lot of hard work and patience, my biggest weakness became my greatest strength. If you had told me 10 years ago that I would go to my first-choice college and graduate cum laude, I would not have believed you. And if you had asked me if I’d feel comfortable speaking in front of 100+ people at a commencement ceremony, I would have declined. That’s how great an impact my learning disability had on my self-esteem and confidence.

I wouldn’t say that I’ve overcome or have even mastered my learning disability. It’s still a challenge I face daily. But I have become more aware of what is needed for me to succeed at my highest potential. And to me, becoming more aware is what makes this learning disability my greatest strength.

--

--