Hello! New Thing. Let’s Figure This Out.

Bryan Archilla
For Film’s Sake
Published in
2 min readFeb 3, 2017
FFS Baby!!

Yo! This is the For Film’s Sake Publication.

I figured this would be a good way to talk about the things we want to talk about that don’t necessarily make into the podcast. Whether they’re too short, too long, too review-y, too odd or just don’t work as a discussion to have on mics.

So, this is where they’ll go. Hopefully some of our recurrent guests and friends will write for this publication. I think it’ll be a good time and I would love for you, the readers, to interact and join us in the discussion.

I’m going to take this post as an opportunity to update you guys on what we’re doing on the show.

We just released on Video, you can find us on YouTube under For Film’s Sake and the first video episode is The Big Lebowski. I had a lot of fun putting that edit together and me and Chris sat down today and talked about the workflow to keep pushing those out consistently.

We’re learning how to deal with our equipment so that we don’t have any quips or kinks during later episodes.

Next episode we have Camille coming in, she was there on our 44th episode to talk about Frayed Fabric, Still one of our favourite convos we’ve had on the show.

That’ll be a tight turnaround time for the edit since we’re recording close to the next release date but it’ll get done and I’m super glad I have a partner that’s willing to put in the work to get a product done and ready for release every week. (I’ll probably write a little more about this in another post.)

This’ll be our first video episode with a guest. I’m super excited, Camille’s a great person to talk to, but I still get a bit nervous before jumping on the mic. I know it’ll be a good show but I tend to live with a small weight of compressed anxiety chained to my neck a lot of the time. Then I do the intro on recording day and suddenly it fades away, it’s a weird process but it seems to work for me.

Sometimes I wonder how Chris feels about the anticipation to a new episode. We have a lot in common but I think we process that kind of stuff differently.

Anyway, that’s about it. 2017 is gonna be a great deal of fun, I’m excited as hell for it and we’ll see what it brings.

That’s it for this post.

I should have a Maronesque catch phrase at the end of these things but My cat’s name isn’t as catchy as Boomer and he hasn’t survived a near death experience that warrants the “Lives!” following the mention of his name.

I’ll figure it out eventually.

--

--

Bryan Archilla
For Film’s Sake

Freelance writer| Filmmaker to be| I love good books, good people and good conversation. Feel free to hit me up on twitter, just click the bird.