18 months

Riddhi Shah
For Leila
Published in
1 min readSep 1, 2017

Dear Leila,

This morning, Marisela was singing the Baby Beluga song to you and Juliana. “Bay-bee Bel-uuu-gaa,” she sang, as the two of you bopped around.

Then came the part with the word “Mama.” “Bay-bee Bel-uuu-ga,” she sang, “Is your Mama home with you, so happ-pyyy.”

You looked at her, cocked your head, and repeated, “Mama?” And Marisela, perhaps knowing what would happen next, said “Yes, Baby Beluga’s mama.”

This was not enough of an explanation. You decided to go looking around the house instead. You set off in your run-waddle towards the back where the bedrooms are.

Then, you spotted me from the corner of your eye standing in the kitchen. You looked at me, surprised, delighted, elated and shouted, “MAMA!!!!”

You hadn’t known if you’d find me. What if I was in the bathroom?! Or I’d gone downstairs. Or worse, if I’d left for work already.

You threw yourself around my legs.

I squeezed you so tight, trying to cling to your already-wandering attention. You’d found me. But in an instant, our moment had already passed.

Love,
Your Mama

--

--

Riddhi Shah
For Leila

Content marketing and creative strategy. Ex-Medium, ex-HuffPost. Finder of joy in writing, food and deep breaths