3 Effective Ways To Build Your Programming Skills

For 6 long years working as a developer, these 3 habits are the most effective ones.

Ann Adaya
For Self-Taught Developers

--

Photo by Paolo Nicolello on Unsplash

“The ability to simplify means to eliminate the unnecessary so that the necessary may speak.” — Hans Hoffman

In my opinion, not just solely based on my experience, but also from my colleagues, and developer friends.

I’ve been working from home most of those years, I did work in the office for 6 months, 5 days a week, this was September 2019, 6 months before the pandemic, I took this new job thinking that I needed to socialize a bit, lol, then the pandemic happened, I guessed I was meant to be a loner.

Kidding aside, it was a good experience, we never really know how things are until we try them, and we will never really know what we want until we put ourselves in there.

Experience is the best teacher, experience is wisdom, and our day-to-day experience is our life itself.

One thing I’ve learned is that those 6 months were the most unproductive days of my developer life, I think I’ve literally worked 3–4hrs/day, most of my days were all lunch break, morning break, chitchat, meetings, and TRAFFIC.

--

--

Ann Adaya
For Self-Taught Developers

Software Developer, Founder/Owner: For Self-Taught Developers + Developer's Cheatsheet: https://www.developercs.com/