Self-Taught Developer In Designing The Best Portfolio

Ann Adaya
For Self-Taught Developers
10 min readMar 7, 2020

--

“Nothing behind me, everything ahead of me, as is ever so on the road.”

Let me first tell you a little bit about my experience when I started working on my first Developer job because I wanted you to know more about how it is in real life before you can start designing your portfolio.

As a Self-Taught Developer we didn’t have anything yet to offer, sure personal projects, good design resume is the best way to do it but let me tell you, at this period, everyone already knows that you can easily get the source code, you can easily copy other people’s work, and at this period, the competition is getting harder and harder, competing with Engineers and Computer Science graduate is overwhelming, so maybe we can do different approach? We need something more to offer, we need to give them something they haven’t yet find, we need to think differently, let me share with you how I created mine.

Starting Web Development literally got me out of my comfort zone, the moment I decided to pursue the journey, also means there’s no turning back, it was my one-way ticket so whatever actions and decision I’ll choose, from that moment forward will determine my future so I thought I needed to be cautious and at the same time carving my way through it, I don’t know if it will work, I don’t know which direction to go, I don’t…

--

--

Ann Adaya
For Self-Taught Developers

Software Developer, Founder/Owner: For Self-Taught Developers + Developer's Cheatsheet: https://www.developercs.com/