When to Visit Cafe Du Monde

Avoid the long lines at this New Orleans cafe.

Ryan Redmond
For the Love of Food

--

Photo by Jessica Tan on Unsplash

I lived in Louisiana for about four years.

Most of my residence (and nomadic couch surfing) took place in Baton Rouge, which isn’t a far drive from the Big Easy.

I did get to house-sit and crash on couches in New Orleans for about half a year. I remember most of it, but the rest is lost to late nights consuming cocktails in jazz lounges and cheap wine in dive bars.

No matter where I was crashing permanently or temporarily, I always found time to explore New Orleans and find the places where the locals were and the tourists weren’t.

But there is one place that you want to visit whether you live there or not.

No, I’m not talking about Bourbon Street. I went maybe two times and would always avoid taking any visitors in town down that road.

I’m talking about Cafe Du Monde.

It started as a coffee stand in 1862 in the French Market area of the city. Today, it’s a traditional coffee shop serving cafe au lait and beignets 24 hours a day.

Please note: Google Maps suggest hours, but the cafe’s website (and from my experience) it’s open 24 hours.

--

--