Poetry Sculpture

My attempt at another way of creating poetry

Lisa Bolin
For The Love

--

Poetry Sculpture (photo: author)

I recently put out a call for people to try something new — what I call poetry sculpture.

I had done one before after trying a bit of blackout poetry and thought of using strips of repurposed books to create shapes. This then led to me cutting the strips so you can see the words that make the poetry.

The process was similar to blackout poetry except I cut out the words with a strip of the page left attached so I could curl it and stick it down.

I was uncertain the whole thing would work but thought there’s no harm in giving it a go!

The photos I took with different shadows are one unexpected interesting result. Luckily I had a sunny day here on the wintery archipelago!

Playing with lighting to get different results (photo: author)

My name was a woman
Green, fresh, darling,
I longed for her/my presence
To the…

--

--

Lisa Bolin
For The Love

Writer | Poet | Educator | Book-lover | Multilingual | Travel Enthusiast | Garden of Neuro Institute sister | A curious soul | A little fearless