Is a Master’s Degree In Writing Worth the Cost?

Elise L. Blake
Writer’s Daily Digest
5 min readMay 3, 2023

--

Whether you are brand new to the idea of novel writing, a seasoned author, or just someone who loves writing and you’re wondering if you should sign your soul away in loans for an MFA in Creative Writing then don’t worry we’re in the same boat because I’m not even sure of the answer.

I completed my bachelor's degree in Creative Writing in 2021, thanks to all the spare time I had due to the lockdown and being unable to return to my retail job. Ever since receiving my expensive wall decoration in the mail for my first degree, I’ve been wondering if I should take the next step in my education and enroll in an online Masters's program for Creative Writing.

Now it doesn’t take even an associate degree to become a writer or even to become an author, but the experience gained can be a push when it comes to the writing experience. Workshops and connecting with other writers are invaluable experiences when you just start off writing. I was also fortunate enough to have an entire class dedicated to growing my author platform using social media.

This isn’t to say you can’t also find this information or writing workshops with little more than typing a few words into the search bar of your browser of choice, but for me, I needed the structure and deadlines that came with the cost of a new car.

--

--

Elise L. Blake
Writer’s Daily Digest

Full-time writing coach and novelist. Elise is a recent college graduate where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.