The Most Important Writing Lesson I Learned the Hard Way

A Lesson From My Personal Experience

Elise L. Blake
Becoming An Author

--

Photo by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash

I’ve made plenty of mistakes in my life when it comes to almost all aspects of it at one point or another and writing is not the exception.

There are things I should have started doing sooner, things I wish someone could have told me, and things that I was told, but didn’t listen to — until it was too late.

Being a full-time writer for the past few years has taught me many lessons on its own, but there is one today that I'd like to share with you before it ends up costing you in one way or another.

Start Building Your Platform

One of the classes required for my bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing solely focused on the business side of being an author. It taught us the importance of marketing, how to brand ourselves and behave as not only an artist but a seller of goods, and most importantly it taught us about building our author platform.

I did the work, passed the class, and earned top marks on my final assignment which was to build a sharable author’s website linking it to at least one social media on which we would be marketing ourselves or our work.

--

--

Elise L. Blake
Becoming An Author

Full-time writing coach and novelist. Elise is a recent college graduate where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.