FABA Spotlights: Siddüm–Abua Odual

In her latest documentary project, Nigerian visual storyteller, Asiyami Gold, chronicles culture, lifestyle and personal stories in her hometown Abua Odual.

For Africans
For Africans
2 min readMay 7, 2020

--

A portrait of Asiyami Gold and her parents. Courtesy @asiyamigold

Words and visuals by Asiyami Gold

I’ve contemplated on the kind of stories I’ve wanted to tell as well as see more of. Over the years, I’ve moved from place to place around the globe documenting experiences that inspire me. After all that I have seen, I am most inspired and impacted by the wisdom passed on from stories told. I thought about my own story and about the stories I would share one day with my children and grandchildren about where they are from. What are the stories of the people who came before them and how does understanding their ancestry help to connect the dots about who they are? Also, what is my part to play in all of this?

Stills from the documentary Siddum– Abua Odual

I started to think about how our stories have always been told by people not of the land. It became clear to me that I could create a space for our voices to finally be heard. A passing down of joy, wisdom, love, honor and power that does not have a time stamp and can connect people across the diaspora. I visited with one of the greatest storytellers I know, first, my father. He shared intimate stories with me about his life, childhood, love, and the changes he has seen in his community throughout his lifetime. I also journeyed back home to capture visuals that I thought would help to further narrate his stories.

Stills from the documentary Siddum– Abua Odual

Our roots are important to who we are.We cannot deny who we are no matter where we go. It is important to hold on to our history. Without our history we cannot connect the dots to the path that leads us home. –– Asiyami Gold

Watch the full documentary here:

Asiyami Gold is a freelance multi-faceted curator and creator. Follow her creative journey on instagram and her website

--

--

For Africans
For Africans

bridging the gap between Africans through visuals