Portraits: People of Santiago

Nicolás Albornoz photographs everyday life on the island while on a trip to explore his African roots in Cape Verde.

For Africans
For Africans
4 min readNov 30, 2019

--

A man plays Funana, a traditional music of Cape Verde. ©Nicolás Albornoz

Words and visuals by Nicolás Albornoz.

From my adolescence, I felt the need to explore my African roots. I was born in Uruguay (South America) and after a long time of dreaming about traveling to the old continent, I finally made the decision to go a few months ago. The time had come. So I opted to visit Cape Verde first and it really was an incredible choice. Since I’ve been here, I have learned a lot through photography; personally and spiritually. I’ve been introduced to incredible new places and received by the people with a lot of kindness and sympathy. I am practically treated like a local.

(L-R) Bana has a small business selling African music records, and bike and motorcycle parts; Fallou is a Senegalese tailor who has been in Cape Verde for several years, he saw me with the camera and asked me to take pictures. Tarrafal, Cape Verde. © Nicolás Albornoz

Kabungo gives surf lessons to the children of Tarrafal. He teaches them values ​​and how to protect the sea and the environment. He does a great job for the community and I’m very happy to be able to photograph him.

Fika (left), she always sold me fruit at her market stall in Tarrafal. She is a friendly woman, the first time I went to buy her fruit, at the time of payment I realized that I had left my wallet at home. She laughed and told me to take the fruit and come back the next day to pay, without knowing absolutely anything about me.

Josephine (right) is from Senegal. She takes her time to cook and her food is really good. Her restaurant is called “Restaurante do Mundo” (Restaurant of the world) and this is how she defines herself. Cidade Velha, Cape Verde.

Two men play Funana music. Tarrafal, Cape Verde. © Nicolás Albornoz

This landscape reminds me of when I was a child, watching video clips of Burning Spear and other Reggae artists in Jamaica surrounded by banana trees and palm trees, and I thought “Wow I want to be there, in that mood”.

Calheta road to Tarrafal, Cape Verde. © Nicolás Albornoz

Luiz (left) in his restaurant where he also has his house. It’s right in front of the beach in Ribeira da Prata. You can lodge here and see the monkeys and turtles that arrive at the beach to spawn at night.

Mariama (right) has a sewing workshop called Mama Afrika at Tarrafal market. She was born in Cape Verde but has a family in Senegal and usually visits. Mariama is a Rasta, and is part of an Afrocentric-Pan-Africanist and social action debate group in Tarrafal. Somedays, she lends her house to the local reggae band to use as a place to rehearse.

(L-R) Jailson enjoys the last rays of sun and waves on Sunday; A man goes out to take a bath in the sea. Tarrafal, Cape Verde. © Nicolás Albornoz

The relationship with the sea here is very strong.

A young man runs to take a bath in the sea in Ribeira da Prata, Cape Verde. © Nicolás Albornoz

Nicolás Albornoz is a Uruguayan photographer observing and capturing life. Follow his photographic journey on instagram.

--

--

For Africans
For Africans

bridging the gap between Africans through visuals