About Foreign Bodies

Fiza Pirani
Foreign Bodies
Published in
2 min readAug 25, 2019

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Foreign Bodies is an email newsletter centering immigrant and refugee experiences with a mission to de-stigmatize mental illness through storytelling. It’s written and curated by Atlanta-based writer Fiza Pirani with copyediting and fact-checking help from Boston-based journalist Hanaa’ Tameez and traveling journalist Farahnaz Mohammed. Want to contribute your time or share your own #ForeignBodies story? Fill out this form and be sure to say hi on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook.

Shout-out to Carter Fellow and friend Rory Linnane for the adorable animated logo!

A Letter From the Editor

This all started out as a way for me to try and make sense of my own sh*t. I was diagnosed with clinical depression last year after months of lingering too long in a darkness I convinced myself would go away on its own.

Since then, I’ve realized there’s a lot to say, share, learn and unlearn about my relationship with mental health and how my foggy identity as a South Asian Muslim immigrant living in the American South might play a role.

Talking to fellow immigrant friends made me aware of our shared experiences. My current fellowship with The…

--

--

Fiza Pirani
Foreign Bodies

Atlanta-based writer/editor and bibliophile. Founder of immigrant and refugee mental health newsletter, Foreign Bodies. Join: foreignbodies.net 💌