FOREIGN FEELINGS PODCAST

Episode 5: Dear Daughter

Show Notes for People who don’t Belong

Linnea George
ForeignFeelings

--

Episode 5 features Mulluemebet Dilnesaw whose mother tongue is Amharic and Dayana Markhabayeva whose mother tongue is Russian…or is it? (listen to the pod).

The Foreign Feelings Podcast is on all major prodcast providors
Dear Daughter by Linnea George translated by Dayana Markhabayeva

What do you think? Is Awareness a White Privilege?

If you do not have the extra recourses you are not going to spend money on this kind of outside support. You are going to spend it on food, shelter and chldcare. A career coach is not cheap.

Dear Daughter by Linnea George translated by Mulluemebet Dilnesaw

I just started working as a Scrum Master and I am fucking appalled and horrified at the way capitalism has hijacked a person’s sense of autonomy over their own body. About 3 times a day, I am sitting in front of the computer in a Zoom meeting and I have to hold my urine because I cannot go to the bathroom. Or I hear my coworkers stomach growl but she ignores it because there is too much work to do. Or we are all getting cross eyed from staring at the screen all day but we do not complain because that is the norm: ignoring the body in order to work. fucking shit. If you go from institutionalized school straight into an institutionalized work place you do not know better. You sit all day and are constantly told what to do with your body and the right way to do your work. Autonomy, control over one’s own body, and connection to one’s own physical needs are obsolete.

I am sad that it is a white privilege privilege to talk about this discomfort. To be aware of it and complain about it. It shouldn’t be. It should be a human privilege. I think this is what Tricia Hersey was getting at when she wrote Rest is Resistance… I suggest everyone read it.

Dear Daughter by Linnea George

Follow us on Instagram!

Talk to me: ForeignFeelingsPodcast(at)gmail(dot)com

--

--

Linnea George
ForeignFeelings

Actress. Writer. Single Mom. Foreigner. US American living in Germany. I meditate every morning that helps.