A Newbie’s Experience at ForloopPH 2.0

Esther Nmawanyi
ForLoopPH
4 min readAug 26, 2018

--

I’m Esther, a newbie in the tech world. This is a brief article to relate my experiences at my first meet up with real tech guys.

I got to hear of the event from Arerosuoghene Wisdom who described the event as a meet up where “senior developers train junior developers on how to be like them when they grow up”, so I made plans to attend. I’ve always had phobia for crowd so on getting to venue I quietly picked a seat at the back.

Key points from the different speakers

Tiku Okoye spoke about Web Optimization. She discussed extensively on page speed - time a page is able to load- as well as how to effectively achieve a page which can load in seconds (3 sec).

Odirionye Obinna spoke on how compressing your Webpack makes your page fast and the functions of Webpack. Performance bootleneck as he explained simply means performance problems

Nsikak Thompson spoke on how one can build a modern Android App the clean way. This depends largely on the structure of your code. Furthermore a clean Android App must be RUDT, this acronym stands for Readable, Update, Debug and Test.

Lawrence Agbani discussed extensively on Back end development. I must say that this is the best tutorial I’ve ever received on Back end. He defines back end as a term for “behind the scene action”. A connection was made between back end and front end, further, the attributes of back end development was analyzed.

Bruce Lucas took the floor and enchantingly held us spellbound with the way he defines the various confusing and conflicting terms in tech. From this part I was meant to understand that a coder and a developer are two different persons in tech. He also made a statement that totally changed my perspective towards tech - “Tech is not all about coding, there are some aspects of tech that involves no lines of code”.

Precious Chukundah spoke on how newbies can grow in their knowledge of web development when they give of themselves freely through volunteering.

Damilola Kawojue took the floor as he explained VR (visual reality) and AR (artificial intelligence), their contribution to tech so far as well as their future in tech. He further encouraged newbies not to shy out from learning it, rather they should take this opportunity to explore this aspect of tech.

Arerosuoghene Wisdom finally led us into open source and the need for every dev to share his/her knowledge in order to learn, grow and become better. He left the landmark words of the day: " Done is better than Perfect".

AYAOSI GODFREY our host also spoke on career path.

More than Talk

Apart from the different presentation from the different speakers, we also had question and answer session which was moderated by the triple CEO, Precious Chukundah with the inclusion of a non-code web developer, Peace Ojemeh (Perrie)- she is a UI/UX designer and Agiri Abraham

Most importantly, our stomach needs were satisfied

We also had a feel of the VR games.

The event was wrapped up with a picture session.

How I was affected

The event was a memorable one . It has helped strengthen my resolve to learn tech. Before this event, I was uncertain about what path to take in order to pursue a career I web design so opted for front end. From the meet up, I was able to speak out my fears to tech experts who helped me see what part I had passion for in web and also influence my decision to learn UI/UX design.

--

--

Esther Nmawanyi
ForLoopPH

Feminist, word phantom, voracious reader,Tech newbie!