I’m (Kinda) Feeling Like a Traitor

Robert Siegel
Fortitude Group
Published in
2 min readDec 30, 2015
Rose Bowl Gear

I’m feeling sheepish.

You see, I live and die for Cal Football. I have for the last 30 years. When I go to Big Game I wear Blue and Gold regardless of where I am sitting.

But Cal has not been to the Rose Bowl in my lifetime. In fact, Cal hasn’t been to the Rose Bowl in 57 years.

That is a decade longer than I’ve been alive.

And it dawned on me that Cal might NEVER make the Rose Bowl in my lifetime. Ever. Aside from that being a depressing commentary on my own mortality, it is an even worse insight on football futility.

So, when my other Alma Mater defeated USC in the Pac-12 Championship game, I asked Debbie Siegel if she wanted to go to Pasadena and root for Stanford. Heck, I’m old enough that I no longer root against Stanford. In fact, unless they are playing Cal, I root for the Cardinal. I did my graduate work there. And I teach there. And I live 10 minutes from campus, so it is easy to go to games.

But I never imagined in a million years that my first trip to an actual Rose Bowl would be to cheer on the Cardinal.

Yet, the way I see it, I might as well go and have a good time. Stanford has a great athletic program. They win consistently. And they graduate their players at an astounding rate (99%).

So, on Friday I’ll be wearing red and cheering for the Pac-12 champion Stanford Cardinal in Pasadena.

Even if I do feel a little guilty.

--

--

Robert Siegel
Fortitude Group

Lecturer @StanfordGSB | Author of The Brains and Brawn Company | Venture Investor | @Cal undergrad | Husband and Father