I Read the News(feed) Today, Oh Boy…

A Day In the Life

Robert Siegel
Fortitude Group
2 min readJul 19, 2016

--

I slipped out of bed on Monday at 5:30 AM, shuffled off to the closet and grabbed my exercise clothes. I quietly shut the door to the bedroom, hoping not to wake Debbie Siegel or the kids, and silently settled into my home office to check e-mail before my workout.

After thinning my Inboxes, I decided to look at my Twitter and Facebook feeds. I saw the following:

  1. The five steps every entrepreneur must know when scaling one’s business.
  2. Donald Trump and Republicans are racists.
  3. Zika is spreading around the world — this is a REAL CRISIS!
  4. #blacklivesmatter
  5. Uber is really big.
  6. Culture is CRITICALLY IMPORTANT in startups.
  7. Hillary is corrupt.
  8. ISIS is killing innocent people everywhere.
  9. Humans are healthier and safer than at any other time in our history.
  10. We need more women in tech.
  11. Person X who knows Donald Trump really well says that Trump is an idiot who can’t read.
  12. Hillary lied for 13 minutes straight in this video!
  13. Why admitting to your failures will make you a success.
  14. You won’t believe what she did that DESTROYED the other side!
  15. Pray for our police officers — they bring order to chaos and have the HARDEST JOBS IN THE WORLD!
  16. Here is what I learned in my first six years in venture capital.
  17. The five most common mistakes SaaS companies make with their marketing and customer acquisition strategies.
  18. The tricks to early stage fundraising success as told by an entrepreneur.
  19. The five steps to find out if you have a great company culture.
  20. Republicans are all fucking morons. How stupid can they be?
  21. Obama is at fault for all of these police shootings.
  22. This is, by far, the best post about Marissa Mayer and Yahoo!
  23. I stand in SOLIDARITY with [enter cause here].
  24. Read this to understand how startups can disrupt large enterprises.
  25. The next big thing is AI combined with VR and some machine learning layered on top.
  26. ISIS just killed 436 people in the Middle East and how come no one made a hashtag for that?

I Read the News(feed) Again Today, Oh Boy…

Another Day In the Life

I slipped out of bed on Tuesday at 5:30 AM, shuffled off to the closet and grabbed my exercise clothes. I quietly shut the door to the bedroom, hoping not to wake Debbie Siegel or the kids, and quietly settled into my home office to check e-mail before my workout.

After thinning my Inboxes, I decided to look at my Twitter and Facebook feeds. I saw the following:

  1. Read on to find the best way to choose your startup investor.
  2. The 14 things Donald Trump said that PROVE he is UNQUALIFIED to be President.
  3. Obama is the worst President ever…

<yawn>

--

--

Robert Siegel
Fortitude Group

Lecturer @StanfordGSB | Author of The Brains and Brawn Company | Venture Investor | @Cal undergrad | Husband and Father