Photo by Dave Redfern on Unsplash

Does Curation Jail Matter?

Chris Hedges
Fortune Favors the Bold
2 min readJan 18, 2020

--

Does curation jail really matter?

I’ve never been curated, so I have not known anything different. I suspect if everyone else gets thrown into curation jail for their initial writing efforts, they’ve been trained to not expect or look for it. Or, use it for anything.

I never look at things in topics. I probably never will since I haven’t been incentivized to do so.

I won’t get around to it since there’s enough good things I’ve found organically and through other’s suggestions.

I suspect most people are like me. If an article shows up on their home page or reading list, that is the important thing.

I can also try SEO for something I wanted to send Google traffic to. Or, just write it using WordPress and my own server since that usually does well to rank high on Google, depending on keyword competition.

Back to Medium.

I clap and get articles that interest me.

When things look interesting on the front page, I just click on those. And, I keep a list of people I like to read that I read daily (or try).

It just seems to make people anxious about something that probably doesn’t matter if they write things people enjoy.

It makes me feel like I need to do something about curation when I just assume it doesn’t make any difference anyway and just causes anxiety about something I don’t have much control over anyway.

I could be thinking about this wrong, so I am open to comments. Maybe if I ever got curated, it wouldn’t seem like something that really doesn’t matter.

--

--

Chris Hedges
Fortune Favors the Bold

I 💗 you! ♦Writer, photographer, web designer♦ 🏳️‍🌈 ⚧️ I'm also on Mastodon at https://hoosier.social/@krissykat