How I Made My First $120,000 NW at Age 21

Alisa Khieu
Fortune For Future
Published in
8 min readFeb 25, 2021

--

Last year, I was the only one who couldn’t drink at the company party. But today, I toast to my biggest milestone yet: making my first $120,000 net worth at age 21. But I don’t have a college degree, I’m not a genius, and I don’t work for a FAANG company.

This is how I did it. 😎

Time, Knowledge, and Money — your 3 most important resources.

Sounds a little sus. Who are you? 👩‍💻

Firstly, the disclaimer! This is not counsel from a licensed financial advisor. My name is Alisa Khieu, and I’m just a sleepless dreamer. Meaning, I’m just a kid with lots of hopes and aspirations that I’m working really hard toward. Because I want to be master of my own fate, and a big part of that is the self-determination found in financial freedom.

Hi, I’m Alisa! Just a kid figuring out life. Think I’m doing pretty swell! :)

This is me! Instead of being in college, I’m currently working full-time in the video games industry, and my salary is around $75K a year in the notoriously expensive Bay Area/Silicon Valley. Before this, I worked minimum-wage at an eSports center, taking up as many shifts as I could by covering coworkers.

I’m being honest so that you know where exactly the $120,000 came from. What it took, and what my circumstances…

--

--

Alisa Khieu
Fortune For Future

Sharing my learnings in pursuit of "the good life". An adventure for self-determination and financial freedom through the lens of philosophy and game design.