Mid-American Gambler: Don’t Lose to Rutgers

Justin Coffin
Free On Saturday
Published in
4 min readSep 6, 2017

I’ve had better weeks, but remember, I did promise to make you a bad gambler. If you took my advice, congratulations!

What I Got Right Last Week:

Eastern Michigan (-14), Buffalo (+26), Ball State (+7.5), Clemson (-38.5) and Marshall (PK)

What I Missed:

USC (-27), Northern Illinois (+2.5), Akron (+33), Bowling Green (+18) and bonus pick Colorado State (+6.5)

Current Record: 5–5

Ball State was a no-doubter for me, but for all the wrong reasons. I sincerely thought the running game would rack up a ton of yards against Illinois much like WMU the year before, and the Cardinals would win or cover in a shootout. It didn’t really happen that way, but that line did eventually fall below five in many spots, meaning I wasn’t alone in thinking the Cardinals had a cover in them.

As for my alma mater, I forgive them for making me look really dumb by picking the Trojans to cover, because by giving USC hell for nearly all four quarters they made it a game worth being at even though the heat nearly killed me.

Week Two

Ohio vs Purdue (-4.5)
Friday, September 8th @ 8:00 p.m.
Ross-Ade Stadium, West Lafayette, IN

The Boilermakers nearly scored a nice upset to start the season over Louisville, but couldn’t hang on in the end. Those things will happen when the other team has the Heisman Trophy winner on the roster. Ohio doesn’t have anyone like Lamar Jackson, but I think Purdue will come back down to Earth.

Ohio +4.5

Buffalo vs Army (-16.5)
Saturday, September 9th @ 12:00 p.m. ET
Michie Stadium, West Point, NY

Buffalo did the thing for me last week, and I think they do it again. That defense led by Khalil Hodge may keep the Bulls in some games they have no business being in, including this one. They’ll never really threaten victory, but will hang around to keep those taking the points comfortable.

Buffalo +16.5

UAB vs Ball State (-14.5)
Saturday, September 9th @ 3:00 p.m. ET
Scheumann Stadium, Muncie, IN

Thank you, Cardinals, for your heroic efforts last week. Remember: champions cover. That said, Ball State is due for a letdown after the disappointing loss last week in a game they really should have won. I’m taking the Blazers to cover, but Cardinals to win. Ball State has won seven straight home openers, and they’ll make it eight.

UAB +14.5

Western Michigan vs Michigan State (-7)
Saturday, September 9th @ 3:30 p.m. ET
Spartan Stadium, East Lansing, MI

I went against WMU last week, and I won’t do it again. Michigan State is not USC, or at least I think they’re not. The Spartans recovered from a slow start last week to really beat up on Bowling Green, but the Broncos aren’t a team a year away, they are in win-now mode and for good reason. I said all summer this is a game the Broncos should expect to win, and I’m not backing down from that.

Western Michigan +7

Eastern Michigan vs Rutgers (-5)
Saturday, September 9th @ 3:30 p.m. ET
High Point Solutions Stadium, Piscataway, NJ

How many FBS teams really should Rutgers ever be favored over? I’m about to pick my fourth MAC school to cover this week and that is incredibly concerning. I’m basically faced with picking Rutgers or Kansas to cover.

Eastern Michigan +5

Central Michigan vs Kansas (-5.5)
Saturday, September 9th @ 4:00 p.m. ET
Memorial Stadium, Lawrence, KS

Looks like I’m picking Kansas. I know nothing of Kansas outside of the fact they are traditionally bad, but I do know that CMU struggled against Rhode Island at home last week, leading me to believe Shane Morris maybe isn’t the best candidate to fill in while Tony Poljan has a gap year.

Kansas -5.5

Toledo(-9.5) vs Nevada
Saturday, September 9th @ 7:00 p.m. ET
Mackay Stadium, Reno, NV

Nevada hung tough with Northwestern last week and could be a dark horse in the Mountain West. But I’m not sure the Wildcats’ offense is on par with Logan Woodside and Toledo. Gimme the Rockets.

Toledo -9.5

The Rest of the MAC

As always, don’t worry, I’m not forgetting anyone. Akron plays Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Bowling Green hosts South Dakota, and Kent State hosts Howard (if this game gets a line, pick Howard). Miami is home for Austin Peay and Northern Illinois plays Eastern Illinois. No, I don’t expect either of those last two to be let downs.

G5 Pick of the Week

Middle Tennessee vs Syracuse (-9.5)
Saturday, September 9th @ 3:30 p.m. ET
Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY

I’m picking this game because I think everyone that can watch should. The over/under on this game is currently sitting around 76 points. 76 points! That has to get at least a couple of people excited. The Orange are favored by nine and a half points, which I believe is a bit high. Middle Tennessee has a ton of talent offensively, led by Brent Stockstill at quarterback and Richie James at Wide Receiver. They were held in check by Vanderbilt last week, but I expect them to break out.

--

--

Justin Coffin
Free On Saturday

Supply chain manager by day, MAC football blogger by (Tuesday) night.