FOSSILS

“Fossils et al.”: A New Publication for Paleontology Enthusiasts

You'll find many curiosity-sparking stories here, from expert fossil hunters to young dinosaur lovers!

Sílvia PM, PhD 🍂🏳️‍🌈
Fossils et al.
Published in
2 min readApr 19, 2024

--

A banner saying introducing fossils et al. There is an Archeopteryx in the background
Introducing Fossils et al. Created with Adobe Express with Adobe Stock images

I grew up knowing I wanted to dedicate my life to nature and wildlife. Biological sciences captivated me beyond measure, and I knew I wanted to learn, travel, and help others understand and respect the natural world.

This curiosity soon entered the realm of the past, so my love for paleontology was born. During my undergrad, I went out of my way to take courses that would help me understand evolution from the perspective of the study of the fossil record. I graduated with a master's and PhD in paleontology and ecology and then worked at the National Museum of Natural History for many years.

Eventually, my career changed to accommodate my new lifestyle as an expat mother. However, my love for paleontology and evolution persisted, testing the passage of time. The support was overwhelming when I eventually tested the waters, writing about mysterious extinct creatures here. People were eager to learn more, and I was eager to communicate my passion.

After some thought and finding the time to put some solid ideas together, I am founding “Fossils et al.” a…

--

--

Sílvia PM, PhD 🍂🏳️‍🌈
Fossils et al.

38x Boosted Author | Ecologist and Paleontologist | Former University Professor | Science Editor for JOM | Founder of the-science-blogger.com/