Courtney’s short and fun Splendour recap!!!

Courtney Lynch
Found My Sandal
Published in
4 min readAug 2, 2018

Sam’s Splendour article too long? Read my short uneducated fun one instead with all the important points!!!

THURS

  • didn’t have enough money for Splendour, working bar at Splendour, still get to see 2/3 of Splendour
  • hide beers in esky, don’t have to go through security checkpoint :) :) :)
  • we drink beers, see UV Boi who doesn’t play bangers :(

FRI

  • working today, i serve a girl drinks and think hmmm u must be in a band, then on my break see her on the amphitheatre stage, she’s in a band
(this one)
  • go back to campsite and get changed, catch some Jack River on the way and she’s packed out the tent, GO JACK RIVER!!!! I LOVE YOU!!!!
  • see Angus and Julia Stone, indulge in euphoric ‘I’m at Splendour and this is very very nice’ moment
  • rock up to Dune Rats in time for Red Light, Green Light and think about the time I nearly died in the mosh when they played Foundry in 2015
  • see Lorde from a nice spot up on the hill :) :) :)

SAT

  • plan to go in early for Haiku Hands but end up having more vodka OJs and making it in for The Babe Rainbow, very nice
  • we go to the Gold Bar to try one of the Strummer cocktails that we’ve made about 800 of. Tastes like punch
  • then Sam wants to go see No Mono, so we go see No Mono (see his article for insights)
  • next up are Superorganism, who are so damn cool, but Sam won’t shut up about how they’re an ‘industry plant’ even though he still believes the earth is a sphere
  • back to work :( :( :(
  • I hear snippets of CHVRCHES and Vampire Weekend from behind the bar but try to distract myself from my FOMO and chat to the guy I’m working the bar with. He refers to them as ‘The Churches’ and won’t budge on his belief that Hilltop Hoods are closing the amphitheatre. I guess Step and Cosby Sweater do have their similarities.

SUN

  • we have the whole day off today!!!
  • go in and get a spritz, then try to get another but they’ve already run out :(
  • get beers tinstead (haha) and get a good spot for Soccer Mommy
  • Soccer Mommy= cool
  • we then head to Rolling Blackouts but I only see the start because I need to pee and the line is very long
  • I go to Mallrat and Sam goes to MUTO, bye Sam
  • Mallrat is so fun!!! She makes sure to get everyone singing the English parts of Bunny Island to save everyone unconfidently screeching ‘Cawaseewoma Ici Ma Sol’???
  • back to tent for more drinks and more layers!! Important!!
  • PNAU are so ridiculous and draw everyone into their very strange but cool neon world. We run into the guy who accidentally came into our tent the other morning, and we all chant ‘NO MORE VIOLENCE!! NO MORE SILENCE!!’ together
  • wild….. STRAWBERRIES!!! :) :) :)
  • MGMT is starting and Sam is still getting water while I save our spot, HURRY UP SAM!!! I’ll shine my light so you can see me!!!
he found me!!
  • we chat to a girl between sets who has to leave at 5:30am and then wait 7 hours in the airport for her flight back to Perth. I tell her to play some sudoku. How good is sudoku!!!
  • Wombats time!! With actual wombats!! And confetti!! Wow!! What a time to be alive!!
  • this guy put me on his shoulders, what a nice guy!
very nice guy
  • I’m a very mainstream Kendrick fan so was pleased to discover that his whole set was filled with all the songs I’ve rapped at pres :) :) :)
  • Sam and I walk back to the tent in complete silence because we’re that exhausted and sleep for a very long time, talk to u tomorrow Sam

MON

  • we exit the campground with our new friend from the wrong tent incident/PNAU who needs a lift
  • I brought sudoko in preparation for the long journey out of the grounds, but surprisingly we get out in like 5 mins and my head hurts so I don’t use it :(

BYE SPLENDOUR!!!

--

--