Field Day 2019 Line-up: Does Sam Rate It?

Sam Gillespie
Found My Sandal
Published in
3 min readAug 28, 2018

Field Day is one festival that often shares big name acts with the aforementioned Origin in Perth. Being the closer of the two locations, it’s one that’s always been more tempting but inevitably more frustrating when I don’t end up making the effort. This year is no different, with acts like Cardi B, Migos, Duke Dumont and Bonobo appearing on both. For my thoughts on these acts, have a read of my Origin write-up. I will say, though, that after writing that, I had a watch of some live Cardi B videos. I think that she would put on a proper good show and be one of the more anticipated acts on this line-up.

Coming down the bill we see big names like CHVRCHES, Rufus du Sol and Flight Facilities, all big talents in dance and pop music. They would all appear on my list and would definitely provide a good time. All three are known for fun, atmospheric stage presences and have impressive back catalogues of big tunes.

We see some familiar Aussie names such as Alice Ivy, Mallrat and Amy Shark. They’ve all become mainstays in the Australian music and festival scenes, although some are for reasons that I don’t understand. Alice Ivy and Mallrat are both a lot of fun live. While I’ve never seen Amy Shark, her music fails to grab me as her latest singles seem to rip off the sounds of established names like Taylor Swift and Lorde, so I wouldn’t be going out of my way to catch her.

Fisher’s profile continues to grow as his tune “Losing It” has become one of the bigger club tracks of the year, so you’d imagine he’d go off. Another rising star is Hobo Johnson, who’s appearance on this line-up is almost laughable considering he’s become more of a meme than a respected musician. In saying this, I don’t think my opinion has fully formed and I’d probably check him out to see how he goes.

It’s a fresher line-up than both Origin Fields and Beyond the Valley have served up so far, but still hasn’t got the “wow” factor I’m looking for. Similarly to Origin Fields, we’ve seen better from Field Day in the past. Again, we play the waiting game to see what any future announcements may bring.

Does Sam Rate It? While I’m not completely sold on some acts, the line-up as a whole is the most solid so far and I rate it.

Will Sam be There? Still a long way to go, but perhaps.

--

--