Carolyn Wall
Found Voices
Published in
3 min readMar 23, 2022

--

Winged Faith

Carolyn Wall via Canva

I cast my being aside. There, in the damp muddy ditches of lost time. Perhaps you may have found the last remnant of speckled light living in me. The amnesia of how to be and what to do all too often followed me like the shadow in constant motion with the body. My crippling thoughts drowned the beauty of the golden rays that lit up the tall grasses off in the distance. I had forgotten to use the vision of cherry blossoms, blooming with grandeur in the spring. All had succumbed to black or white with nothing in between.

I heard the shrieking of a murder of crows. Their flight eclipsed the sun. Lying limp on the damp ground, my hair covering my muddied face, I could smell the decaying life transforming into earth. My wandering eyes, barely open, caught a glimpse of one courageous green sprout beneath the caked-up layers of Autumn leaves. It awoke a true feeling within. Something I had not sensed in a long time.

A soft voice spoke: ‘Be with it.’

My eyes widened, and I looked around in fright. Nothing was there. Just me and the green sprout, doing its best to push through the leaves. Even then, it seemed I was not there. I wondered how I had arrived at this place.

A plea from the depth of my soul called out into the world to help me remember. Remember what it is to live in harmony. Remember what it is to feel alive. Remember how to use my hands, my feet, my body, my heart and my mind to walk this life in a good way. My tears dropped to all the welcoming earth.

The voice from the ethers carried on: ‘The world is thirsty as you are thirsty.’

My nervous system awakened in revelation by a jolt of lightning running through my spine. My hands patted along my body checking that yes I was still whole and part of this earthly walk. I stood up and another jolt of lightning struck, illuminating me with the vision to see beyond time and space. Every cell in my body felt the heavens speaking. A calling to activate my being out of this decaying ditch.

I closed my eyes and saw the mystery unfolding. Giant birds with sunset wings spiralled around the earth, a spirited wolf pack leaped forth through the air as glacial bears pranced under a guiding North star. I was part of them and they a part of me. Every atom in my body stirred with truth.

I stood tall, receiving this life force. Wings grew out of my shoulder blades. Every feather shining with the light of a thousand galaxies. Iridescent. Calming.

I looked down to the earth where I had been motionless for so long. The shape of my body carved into the ground. It felt foreign to me now. The little sprout was chanting with glee and glowing with radiance.

I smiled and spread my wings. The tips stretched out far enough to reach the ends of the earth enveloping everything. All of life was under them. The wind danced and lifted me up. My heart tingled with a new found faith. I flapped my wings and in an instant all of life below became small. The freedom of the skies permeated my being, as I spun in mid-flight to face the sun and soak it all in.

Beauty, joy and grace filled every inch of me. My whole body smiled with gratitude. With life’s magic pulsing within, I flew off into my unfolding destiny.

--

--

Carolyn Wall
Found Voices

I am an extension of Earth capturing the ephemeral essence of life through creative expressions. The wilderness calls me home. I listen deeply to find my way.