© MARINA ARJONA

Inspired, energised

(and counting)

Marina Arjona
Art Psychotherapy Goldsmiths
2 min readAug 3, 2013

--

I usually think about inspiration in a creative context, but I must say that I feel very inspired by volunteering.

Volunteering is a chance of being whoever you want to be and do what you feel you can do, while helping others, but without competing for a position, a career status or the pressure and stress of a job. At the same time, is a good way of meeting inspiring people, who will definitely have an impact on my career and on a personal level.

You give, but I think you get a lot more.

So far I have volunteered my time and skills for a local Mind, Carefree Kids, Kids Company, Haven House Children’s Hospice and Rethink.

I have learned a lot by going through training sessions and hands on experience, it’s amazing how much, bearing in mind I have just been volunteering since December 2012.

I have been able to open up about my own issues, which I haven’t before in other settings, but sometimes that part has proven to be the hardest. But most importantly I’ve regained some of my self-confidence, on social situations and on my own skills.

I am happy that one of the entry requirements for the MA in Art Psychotherapy is “1500 hours of relevant work experience prior to application”, which means in social or mental health services, schools or similar organisations, paid or voluntary. It might seem like too many hours, but I think this will make a huge difference on how I approach the subject and definitely on how much I will know when I get there.

I also like the fact that by then, I will know what the job actually means and all about the social responsibility it carries. I wish there were many more other career paths with such high standards, so that when people get qualified, they know a big deal about how to practise and if that job is right for them. For now I just have to master the right kind of people skills and learn as much as I can.

--

--