© MARINA ARJONA

The gap

=

Marina Arjona
Art Psychotherapy Goldsmiths
1 min readNov 2, 2013

--

I was really counting the days before starting university. I couldn’t wait for September to come. All sorts of words were coming out, until the time arrived. And then, I wouldn’t write.

I found myself in a gap. A space I wouldn’t know how to fill, because my personal life was way too full of uncertainty and boxes to be unpacked, again.

I moved houses when Freshers’ Week had just started. When sorting out stuff would take priority over creating, and when having fun and enjoying the moment was a bit out of the question.

It’s a very frustrating feeling, when what you love the most or what you naturally would do, just doesn’t happen, it can’t be achieved because you need to sort the very basic steps of the ‘hierarchy of needs’, such as a safe shelter and stability.

But somehow, as things are getting better, slowly, I’m getting my creative energy back, I’m filling my visual journal, trying to catch up, and writing, bouncing between words and image making.

There’s been a gap.

But maybe that is part of the process of getting myself back, a self with a lot of energy to offer.

--

--