A Black Girl’s Lesson on Individualism

If you have wings fly

--

Photo by Andre Sebastian on Unsplash

As the news airs a segment about the missing 13-year-old, Valerie, I watch in horror. I’m haunted by gym class and how Valerie was brutally bullied everyday.

I am ashamed. I stood by and did nothing to help Valerie despite us being friends.

I dressed back in after PE quickly so I could escape the humiliating situation lest I become the bully’s next target.

As Azha’s mother, Haley cuts potatoes to make brabant potatoes she says quietly,

Azha, (whose name means “sunrise star" in Arabic), whatever you do don’t be a walking stick.”

As Haley cooks raw garlic and butter for the potatoes she continues, “Walking sticks have wings but don’t fly. Desperate to fit in and blend in with their surroundings she gets eaten by lizards and birds. Instead of having the courage to use her wings and fly ...”

Mama faces me.

I look into her dark brown eyes which are full of disappointment.

Whenever you’re met face to face with an opportunity to be brave take it. You have wings. You’re braver and stronger than you think.”

I don’t know how mama knew I was a coward and didn’t defend Valerie but she gave me the strength I needed to use my wings.

Moral of the story:

“Human tragedies: We all want to be extraordinary, and we all just want to fit in. Unfortunately, extraordinary people rarely fit in.”

Sebastyne Young

Note: My stories are only meant to provide light-hearted content.

When I’m not busy being a super mom, cleaning up messes, running errands and taking my autistic daughter to her medical appointments, I find time to write poetry and blog about random topics that are important to me. I am an animal lover, author, jokester, poet, bibliophile, true crime stories junkie, history buff, multiparous single parent, autism advocate, educator, homeless activist, food aficionado autodidact who loves learning about everything. I grew up in West Palm Beach, Panama City and Pensacola, Florida. I currently reside in New Orleans with my two children.

© 2023 Kourtney Nicole. All rights reserved.

--

--

KourtneyNicoleWrites ™ 📝
The official pub for FACE

Artist. Day/Night dreamer, entrepreneur, prolific reader, in-depth learner, bibliophile, foodie, jokester, history lover. KourtneyNicoleWrites@gmail.com.