Black Icons: Michael Jackson

Troi McAdory
The official pub for FACE
4 min readFeb 3, 2023

--

Michael Jackson 1971, age 13

In honor of Black History Month, I wanted to express my gratitude to Black icons in history that have paved the way for Black Americans. It was only natural for me to start with my favorite and one of the greatest of all time.

Michael Jackson.

A household name that has spanned decades and generations creating a space as one of the world’s biggest stars in entertainment. He revolutionized the music industry by breaking down every wall in front of him until he was crowned the King of Pop. He is forever immortalized through his legacy as a philanthropist, humanitarian, dancer, and songwriter. Even years after his passing, he continues to be a global inspiration.

Michael Jackson started as a child star with his brothers in the famous Jackson 5 band during a time of racial segregation and tension. He was the youngest and the brightest with a talent that was unseen by the world but especially by children of color. He grew to be a shapeshifter of the entertainment world by dabbling in acting, singing, choreography, and much more. He was an adorable Black child that grew into a Black man that was breaking records that no one could compare.

I was first introduced to Michael Jackson as a child when VHS was the standard way of watching films. I was watching Alvin and the Chipmunks and at the end of the episode, there was a…

--

--

Troi McAdory
The official pub for FACE

I write about things I can’t always find the words to say