If your sun sign is ruled by Mercury, read this.

I’m not an astrologist, but a trend’s a trend. Gemini and Virgo babes, read on.

Tasha N. Burton
The official pub for FACE
2 min readApr 5, 2023

--

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

The next Mercury retrograde is on April 21, 2023. However, there is a shadow period lasting about a week before and after the retrograde cycle. Mercury retrograde is often stigmatized as a period of doom and gloom. This retrograde is so despised that people have given this period all sorts of monikers to express their disgust with it. Here are a few of my personal favorites.

My Bitmoji via Bitmoji
  1. Mercury in Hand Grenade (my supervisor thought of this one)
  2. Mercury in Microbraids
  3. Mercury in MetroBoomin Metrograde (my co-worker Victoria thought of this one)
  4. Mercury in Haterade

The planet Mercury rules communication and everything that comes with it. It is noted that this period is when you should not sign legal agreements, or you may have problems with your computer or cell phone, and that you should think twice about purchasing that new car as it can impact your finances as well. It symbolizes a period of slowing down, taking your time, and giving extra special attention to large projects or major decisions. You can use this time to your advantage, especially if you’re a writer.

…the shadow period before Mercury retrograde begins, my mind is incredibly sharp.

My sun sign is Virgo, which is ruled by Mercury. Gemini is the other sun sign ruled by Mercury. During the retrograde, I must remind myself to pause when reacting to something that has upset me or made me angry. Without this special consideration, my rebuttals hit hard, leaving smoke in the air. However, I’ve noticed that my mind is incredibly sharp during the shadow period before Mercury retrograde begins. I communicate more clearly than usual, and my writing is at its best. I use this time to work on grant applications, exhibition proposals for my art practice, and non-fiction writing.

Over the next two weeks, I encourage you to write daily or write more than usual. Once Mercury retrogrades, stop where you are and begin your editing process. The retrograde technically ends on May 14th, but remember the shadow period afterward. Continue to use this time to perfect something you’ve been working on for a while or revisit something you’ve tucked away. If you’ve missed this timeframe, don’t worry. The next Mercury retrograde is August 23rd.

--

--

Tasha N. Burton
The official pub for FACE

Multidisciplinary artist, clinical research coordinator, and writer living in St. Louis, MO with her dog-child Yorkie-Maltese Bailey Button. tashanburton.com