The most important thing is to be the voice of Black people

It does not matter where we are, it does not matter where we write, it does not matter what our position is, it does not matter who we are!

martin William
The official pub for FACE
4 min readApr 5, 2022

--

Your voice counts | Photo from here

Hello to all dear friends. Today, in this story, I want to write to you about what I have in mind and what I have tried for all these years. I, Martin, am a young Black guy who has been trying to be the voice of my brothers and sisters for years. Those who have lived under racial discrimination and inequality for many years, because their skin color is not white.

I myself have been insulted many times, in different places and different situations. This sparked me to work to combat discrimination against people of color, especially Black people. So during this time and as a freelance journalist, I have been writing and defending the most obvious rights of Black people in various spaces such as Twitter and Medium.

I have faced many challenges along the way. You may now think that these challenges have come only from white supremacists. No! Many of these challenges have come from my Black brothers and sisters, and that is what has upset me so much. But now and in this story, I do not want to complain about the difficulties. I have learned from hardships to be stronger and not give up until I reach my goals.

“Our lives begin to end the day we remain silent about the things that matter” | Photo from here

Not only will these hardships not deter me from the path I have taken, but they have also marked a turning point in my life, and that is to act, think and write more, bigger and different than before. That’s when I decided to globalize my approach.

Because Black people and people of color in general are discriminated against around the world, and although this is more pronounced in the United States, we can see it everywhere in the world. That’s why I created the international section of the FACE. In this part, stories related to Black people in other parts of the world are published.

The last thing I want to mention in this story is to thank some friends who helped me along the way. I want to thank Kay Valley, Erica J, etc. Those who, in addition to writing stories for the FACE, also did editing. Also thank you to those friends who were the voice of Black people for a while and then left us.

Nothing matters to me as much as the rights of my Black brothers and sisters. That’s why I was so happy when I saw Kay Valley’s article in another publication. I strongly recommend you to read it:

That article was originally written for the FACE, but for some reason, it was published in another publication that also deals with Black rights and issues.

The most important thing is that we can be the voice of Black people and their rights, it does not matter where we are, it does not matter where we write, it does not matter what our position is, it does not matter who we are, etc.

Herbert Dyer, Jr., KL Simmons, Anthony Williams, Rosalyn Morris, Melissa Edwards, Dr. Cynthia Alease Smith, Erica J, Erica Donaldson-Ellison, Carmellita, LaDarius Dennison, Kay Valley, ft. a black girl, Dani Bethea, Andrea M. Peters, Porche, Tammy M, C. Seals, Samba Seck, Jamie Tukpah, Vanessa Gallman, Rakysha, Andrew P. Brown III, PhD, Asanda Kaka, Morenike Adesulu, Nikki Lives, Jasmine Dudley, Meshell Baylor, Sanford S. Williams, Esq., Dorothy Lennon, Dominique Simpson, Chris Writes, Laura M. Quainoo, Ingryd Lo Tierzo Silva, Dominick Bernard Francois, Patrick OConnell, Tony Hynes, Christopher K. Collins, Clare Xanthos, PhD, Ian Courts, Maurice Carlisle, Tysir Nixon, A. Mimi Sei, Tiandra theladypoet Moore, The Potty Mouth Granny

Anyway, I emphasize again, I will continue on my way with strength and as long as I live, I will do my best to defend the rights of Black people. Once again I ask you to help me in this way.

Thank you so much,

--

--