Details Show We Care

Saikhantal
A Founder’s Journal
2 min readApr 21, 2015

--

Lots of input in exchange for … a loyal customer?

There are a ton of unpacking videos on Youtube. People who record it know audiences sitting in front of screens all over the world are expecting the Ta-Dah moment. Wow is even better. As one of the audiences, I like watching how the person who uploads this video makes himself/herself become an agent of the brand. It’s easy to tell that this person happily shares the aura so delicately produced by people behind a brand. Every unpackaging moment is a tiny campaign.

I received my business card order from Moo yesterday. To my pleasant surprise, there is a business card holder included in the box. In the black holder, there are two index cards, on which “my card” and “their cards” are written. Despite that these two index cards are not made in heavy weight paper so a few light pulls can generate obvious creases, I’m still fairly impressed by efforts made by the Moo people. It is as if they’ve been with me in a number of social events I was involved, observing me searched “my card” among “their cards” just handed to me and me tried hard to hide my search behavior clumsily.

This is the Ta-Dah moment for me. If I upload a video recording me unpacking my business cards from Moo, I’m sure audiences will meet me at that moment. There are eye candies in the box as well, like some stickers and kind greeting words.

I know the big issue behind giving moments like this to users is the cost control. I see this issue especially clearly now, since we are giving away coasters handmade by ourselves in nice envelops with greeting cards finely printed to people who kindly helped us with interviews and surveys we did earlier. And the fabric used in these coasters was sourced in Garment District, imported from Italy. To be honest, the gratitude from the bottom of our heart is as true as the dollars we put in those envelops.

Yet I refused to see this as an investment or as a cost to acquire a customer. I don’t think the thank you card has any causal relationship with a purchase order. I see it as me shows respect to someone else who stepped ahead to help me out. I may never run into this person again, i.e., I may never receive a purchase order from this person, but I wrap up this communication in the right way, and I know this person will be happy. Now this is irrelevant to dollars.

What Moo does shows me they care me that much. And I am happy I had a nice communication with them. I’m very likely to recommend their service to my network, because they made me feel I’m not only a loyal customer.

Here at Flaneur we’re practicing the same manner.

--

--

Saikhantal
A Founder’s Journal

An entrepreneur and an artist. I write about creating things, running as a newbie, and observations and discoveries in between. Unabashed and kind.