Musings of a Fiction Writer (Vol. 1): The Art of Publishing Quietly

J.S. Lender
Reef Point Press
Published in
3 min readOct 22, 2022
Photo: Maui by J.S. Lender © 2022

A FEW YEARS ago, I was putting the final touches on the manuscript for my first book, which was a short story collection. I felt nervous and confused about being a first-time author, and I had no idea how to go about publishing and marketing my beloved first book. So, I did what all insecure, greenhorn authors do: I hopped online and tumbled my way to YouTube.

I soon found myself watching a video of a young woman rambling at a comically fast pace about marketing, online reviews, book sales, book giveaways, and author competitions. For me, it was all a bit too much. In the end, I quietly published my book, made a few online announcements, and that was the end of it. I ultimately decided that the world of high pressure, high stress indie book promotion would never be a shoe that would fit.

I was eventually successful at maneuvering that first book of mine into local bookstores and libraries. Since that time, I have published three additional books, while keeping my promotional activities to a minimum. For me, there is simply no joy in tinkering around on the Internet, begging for reviews and trying to hawk copies of my books to random folks looking for free stuff. My books are out there now — in libraries and local bookstores, and I have confidence that they are being read. These books of mine are physical commodities and will not vanish like dust in the wind, so what’s there to worry about?

I have never been discouraged by low book sales; I just keep writing and publishing.

When I read articles and posts from other authors who make diligent attempts to promote their books online, I cannot help but wonder how much their writing may be suffering at the hands of the endless online promotion machine. Sure, all writers want their books to be successful and reach a wide audience, but at what cost? Isn’t the primary goal of writing to create a meaningful body of work while challenging yourself creatively?

I recently read a biography excerpt about Edgar Allan Poe (one of my favorites). Poe had been so desperate to hook a publisher for a collection of his stories that he offered to waive royalties in exchange for a mere 20 copies of his book, which he would then share with friends and family. Poe’s sad offer was rejected. Surely, if Poe were alive today, he would find himself living in a fiction writer’s paradise, where he could publish his books with complete autonomy, at essentially no financial cost.

Each writer has a unique level of tolerance for book promotion and “playing the game.” Personally, I have found great satisfaction in quietly publishing my books, despite a lack of fanfare and widespread recognition. After all, there is no one-size-fits-all method to this slippery craft of ours.

Fellow wordsmiths: until next time, keep those fingers tapping, and best of luck out there!

J.S. Lender’s new novella + short story collection for young readers, Emma and the Starry Night, is on sale now!

J.S. Lender © 2022

--

--

J.S. Lender
Reef Point Press

fiction writer | ocean enthusiast | author of six books, including Max and the Great Oregon Fire. Blending words, waves and life…jlenderfiction.substack.com