What Do You Want As a Writer?

J.S. Lender
Reef Point Press
Published in
4 min readDec 5, 2020
photo by author

LIKE MANY WRITERS, I get burned out on the writing process from time to time. Last month I independently published a new book for middle grade readers. Just for kicks, earlier this year I sent my manuscript to an agent to see if perhaps the book might be marketable. Of course, short story anthologies are typically not marketable, and the agent was not interested.

I then started to wonder how I could change the book to make it more marketable. Could I convert some of the stories into novellas? Could I expand one of the longer stories into a standalone novel?

I quickly snapped out of it, and realized that I am quite fond of my book just the way it is. I also realized how the process of trying to find an agent to sell my book to a publisher sucked all of the joy out of the writing process for me, at lightning speed.

As I was trying to figure out what to do next with this new book, I simply sat down with a yellow notepad and wrote down my writing goals and priorities, to learn what it is that I am trying to accomplish as a writer. This is what I wrote:

1. Low stress

2. Write books that are important to me

3. Build relationships with local bookstores, libraries and the writing community

4. Get my books into the hands of readers

There are some obvious items missing from my list. First, there is no desire to make money as a writer. Second, there is no desire for fame, notoriety, awards, or reviews by literary journals. Upon making this list, I realized that the process of finding an agent and selling my books to publishers, then working with an editor and rewriting draft after draft of my beloved books is not a process that will ever be a good fit for me.

I also realized that “Low Stress” was not only at the top of the list, but that item was circled several times. This is by far my most important goal as a writer — to enjoy the writing process and to make it a stress-free experience. Also of note was item #4 — my goal of simply getting my books into the hands of readers (the actual number of readers not being important).

me at a local bookstore that carries my books

The truth is, I have come to enjoy my small, quiet corner of the literary world. All of the hoopla that accompanies online marketing and relentless self-promotion that is now expected of authors is not for me. I enjoy my casual relationships with local bookstore owners and libraries, along with the knowledge that my books are getting into the hands of readers in my community.

I have also come to terms with the fact that the vast majority of good writers cannot make a living writing, nor do they usually achieve fame or notoriety. Recently I came across a short story anthology from the early 1990s — a collection of tales written by California writers. I was on vacation with my family and we were staying in a rented house. The old, dusty anthology was propped up on a bookshelf for decoration as part of a row of lonely “garage sale books,” as I call them.

I read a few of the stories, and noted that each of them were quite interesting and well written. Despite the fact that I typically read several books each month, I had never heard of a single author who contributed to that 1990s anthology. It was hard not to wonder what became of each of those forgotten literary ghosts as the 1990s lurched forward and they failed to get their big break in publishing. Did some of them pursue careers in academia? Did they keep writing despite their lack of financial success? Did those writers call it a day after writing just one or two books?

If you feel burned out and disappointed with the writing process, take a few minutes to sit down and jot down your goals and aspirations as a writer. Is it important to you to have an agent working on your behalf to sell your books? Will you never feel like a “real author” until you have a publishing deal with a major publishing house? Are you trying to make a living as a writer, or are you just writing for the sole purpose of creating stories and books that are meaningful to you and your small group of readers?

The answers to these questions will be different for everyone, but just try to learn what the answers are for you. If you pose these questions to yourself in written form, you may be surprised what you learn.

Follow Fountain Pen for more articles about the fiction writing process…

© J.S. Lender 2020

--

--

J.S. Lender
Reef Point Press

fiction writer | ocean enthusiast | author of six books, including Max and the Great Oregon Fire. Blending words, waves and life…jlenderfiction.substack.com