The Importance of Showing Behind The Scenes of Song-Making Process

Maral
Four Dash Four
Published in
5 min readJan 2, 2022

--

Learning about the creative process and music-making art should be discussed more.

I get curiosity craves as to how albums are made, from the creative process to the writing process to production phases. My interest gets even more profound when I know the singer has taken part in the writing, composing, and producing of their music.

There is something different about singer-songwriters and how their music resonates with listeners individually. When I see a singer’s name on their album’s credits, having contributed to the writing and production process, I start to see the song from a different perspective.

It is subconscious processing more so than an explicit effort on my part.

First, you start to examine the song personally from the artist’s perspective.

They are not singing someone else’s words or experiences; therefore, their songs’ stories are bound to mean something special to them.

If a song talks about dealing with emotions of sadness after a life-changing event, you might infer that the artist’s song perhaps depicts a portion of their raw feelings, those that have taken place in reality.

--

--

Maral
Four Dash Four

I write about languages, personal development and music. Graphic Design student and a photography enthusiast.