Ain’t No One Gonna Honour Kill My Sister But Me

Why ‘We Are Lady Parts’ is my new favorite show

Patsy Fergusson
Fourth Wave

--

Momtaz (the manager), Bisma, Amina, Ayesha and Saira make up the punk band Lady Parts

When geeky innocent Amina Hussein agrees to play guitar for the all-girl Muslim punk band Lady Parts, it’s only because she’s been promised a date with the drummer’s handsome brother, a man she finds attractive in part because he has “eyebrows you could hang on to.”

At 26 years old, Amina is in the marriage market, but her search for a husband is not going well. We get a glimpse of the awkward process of formal introductions, and of her sweet and goofy parents, in the opening scene, which establishes the intimate voiceover which reveals Amina’s thoughts and keeps the audience close to her throughout the series.

And when she shows up for rehearsal to hear the band playing “Ain’t No One Gonna Honour Kill My Sister But Me,” she isn’t the only one whose mind is blown. The snippet of the song that appears in Episode One completely knocked me off my feet. I went back to listen again and write down the lyrics. Here’s what I heard.

I’m gonna kill my sister
gonna
this aint about you
it’s between her and me
she stole my eyeliner
what a bitch
and she’s been stretching my jeans out
with her fucking big back

it’s an honor killing
it’s an honor killing

I’m gonna kill my…

--

--

Patsy Fergusson
Fourth Wave

Tree hugger. Tour guide. Top Writer. Feminist. Newly-baptized Bay swimmer. Editor of Fourth Wave. https://medium.com/fourth-wave