Architecture Killed My Career

Let go without explanation after having a child

Ashley Kettenring
Fourth Wave
5 min readJan 3, 2024

--

“We’re parting ways with you. We’ve made efforts to find a good fit, but we can see that you’re not content with your work here. This decision isn’t related to your recent experience as a new mom.”

In many states, employers are not legally required to provide a reason for terminating an employee. I was let go from my job six months after returning from maternity leave without any explanation or prior notice.

I was employed as a project manager at an architectural firm for 6 years. It was my initial job right after college, and I was assured of a prosperous career. The career path is equally challenging for those familiar with the demanding hours and dedication required to earn an Architecture degree. After graduation, you must complete 3,740 internship hours and pass six rigorous exams to become a licensed Architect. My concern is not the rigors of becoming an architect but rather the toxic work environment.

The office culture in most firms is centered around “getting the job done,” and the expectation is to work late nights and weekends to meet deadlines for modest compensation. In this post-pandemic era, where mental well-being and work-life balance are gaining importance, industries like the AEC sector (Architecture, Engineering and Construction) have been slow to adapt.

Ghosted in the hospital

I was a new mom to a 9-month-old baby boy when I was let go from my job without any explanation. At that time, my son had just started at a new daycare, and we were all dealing with various illnesses. My former workplace had shown a consistent lack of support throughout my pregnancy and after my return from maternity leave. My workload significantly decreased after I informed management of my pregnancy. I was explicitly told I couldn’t work on certain projects because of my pregnancy.

When the time for my baby’s arrival came, I experienced severe complications and was placed on bed rest. My former employer’s response was dismissive, and I was expected to work from home while on bed rest. My complications worsened, leading to hospitalization, and my doctors informed my former employer that I couldn’t work anymore. After that, I never heard from them again.

My maternity leave concluded after 12 weeks spent with my child. I had requested a gradual transition back to the office. It’s worth noting that I was struggling with postpartum depression at the time, which I hadn’t yet sought help for. I was granted a transition period, working a minimum number of hours a week. However, my depression deepened upon my return to work.

My complications worsened, leading to hospitalization, and my doctors informed my former employer that I couldn’t work anymore. After that, I never heard from them again.

My son had difficulty napping and taking bottles at daycare, leading to daily meltdowns during drop-offs. Additionally, I was getting very little sleep, and pumping added to the challenges. While I understand that many mothers have experienced similar difficulties, this was a completely new and isolating experience for me, as I lacked a support system. In tears, I approached my former boss and requested a longer adjustment period, not realizing they were looking for reasons to terminate my employment.

From then on, the office manager covertly monitored my hours, and my boss scrutinized my work. If I left my desk to pump, I was met with disapproving glances as if I should have been working instead. If I arrived late because of a rough night with my son or due to illness, I was treated as if I were the first person ever to arrive late to work.

Before having my son, I was known for arriving early, working overtime, and doing whatever it took to get the job done. However, my priorities shifted significantly after becoming a parent. It became all about my child, providing for him, and spending as much time with him as possible. Unfortunately, this perspective was not well-received in my former workplace.

In tears, I approached my former boss and requested a longer adjustment period, not realizing they were looking for reasons to terminate my employment.

This may seem like an isolated incident, but it’s not. I’m aware that I’m not the first mother to lose her job after childbirth, and this situation illustrates the treatment that many architects and project managers in the AEC industry face.

Architecture firm owners will often go to great lengths to advance their success. This should not be the norm or expectation. Working 60+ hours a week, piling excessive work on one individual until they break, and making a new mother feel so uncomfortable in the workplace that she’s torn between fighting for her job and caring for her family is unacceptable.

Not all companies are anti-family

Fortunately, there is a somewhat positive outcome to my story. I found a job at a place that provides the support I need and understands the challenges of being a new mom. Looking back on my current position, I feel disappointed in my former workplace.

When I first joined, I was told it was a family-oriented environment, with an understanding of the demands of family life. They even inquired about my plans for having children. Now, it’s a place where only some have time for their own families, or for starting one. I hope that one day, they reconsider their pursuit of success at the expense of their employees and ask themselves if it was truly worth it.

This is just an example of the maltreatment women face in the architecture industry or any workplace for that matter. I want to change that. I don’t want any woman to feel belittled, alone, or isolated in their career like I did because the men up top told me to.

For more of the good stuff, follow Fourth Wave. Have you got a story, essay, or poem that focuses on women or other challenged groups? Submit to the Wave!

--

--

Ashley Kettenring
Fourth Wave

Ashley is a a devoted mother, accomplished architectural designer, and passionate advocate for women's equality in the workplace.