Breaking up is Hard To Do

But it can make you stronger

Jess West
Fourth Wave

--

Photo by Lance Reis on Unsplash

I was listening to my favourite podcast, My Therapist Ghosted Me, recently when they read an email from a listener who was talking about how she was always going back to her ex.

It was a heartbreaking account of how she just found herself in the same patterns over and over, despite being desperate to break them. Her ex sounded cruel and heartless and the whole situation sounded like a royal mess.

Although the podcast hosts, Joanne and Vogue, did a grand job of telling this girl to STAY AWAY, I found myself wanting to reach out to her. To tell her that she’s not alone and to share my own thoughts, from extensive experience of being single (and treated like crap).

As I can’t contact her, and it’s unlikely that Joanne and Vogue feel the need for a special guest coach, I’m sharing my “wisdom” here instead.

1. Going cold turkey is always the answer

You want to stay friends, you still have their sweater, they have your pyjamas, etc. etc. Sure.

When you end things, unless there are kids or property involved, there is really no reason to continue the dialogue. Everything that that should have been said has been said; anything else doesn’t need to be.

--

--

Jess West
Fourth Wave

ICF accredited mindset coach, 600RYT yoga teacher and change leader. You can find me at compasscoachingandyoga.com