I’m on a Career Pit Stop, and That’s OK

Sometimes you need to pivot and adapt

Ashley Kettenring
Fourth Wave
3 min readApr 1, 2024

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I never foresaw the career obstacles that would arise after having a child. It all began with losing my job shortly after returning to work, which thrust me back into the job market with a newborn in tow. My family was uprooted within a few months, and we relocated for my new job. The transition took us from a bustling 30+ person firm in a big city to a small 5-person firm in a small town.

Our decision to move seemed illogical to many, especially since hardly anyone we knew had children. The mentality around me was focused solely on career advancement, with little regard for personal priorities or life outside of work.

The truth was, I was burning out. My job wasn’t just a place of work; it consumed my life. The stress and drama followed me everywhere, and my new status as a mother seemed to hinder rather than facilitate my professional growth. I felt stagnant and overwhelmed, yearning for a job where I could clock in at 8 and leave work behind at 5. But few understood my perspective or the shift in my priorities.

The truth was, I was burning out. My job wasn’t just a place of work; it consumed my life. The stress and drama followed me everywhere, and my new status as a mother seemed to hinder rather than facilitate my professional growth.

When I accepted my current job, they acknowledged and respected my need for flexibility as a parent. During the interview, I made it clear that my son was my priority, and they responded with understanding, recognizing that family responsibilities are an integral part of life. In this new environment, there’s no drama or stress; I can focus on my work and leave it at the office. The atmosphere is supportive, and there’s an understanding that family comes first.

Then one day, I sat and questioned “What the hell am I doing?” I used to be so driven, I had so many career goals I had a side hustle that was making some money. I was constantly asking myself, “What’s next?” never stopping. I hungered for that old self to come back; where did my drive go?

My family is very career driven and they thrive on success, but looking at my parents and older brother at my age and life stage now, they didn’t have it together. I keep reminding myself that I’m still young(ish). No, I’m not in my 20s, but I still have years to build something and to make changes in my career.

If I choose to stay where I am at, that’s fine too. I’m learning that someone else’s opinion on my career choices don’t matter to me. So for now, in my stage, I’m calling it a pit stop. I’m taking time to slow down a bit and enjoy my life.

I actually am so much happier now than I was at my old job. I have read endless articles and listened to many podcasts about how a woman’s career changes after having kids. Words like “pivot” and “shift” are used so frequently now. We face many adversaries because our workforce and society are not built for us, so we have to shift and pivot to make it work. So I have shifted, and I am so happy with the decision I made. And I know this isn’t the end of my career.

For more stories about women and work, follow Fourth Wave. Have you got a story or poem that focuses on women or other disempowered groups? Submit to the Wave!

--

--

Ashley Kettenring
Fourth Wave

Ashley is a a devoted mother, accomplished architectural designer, and passionate advocate for women's equality in the workplace.