WOMEN EMPOWERMENT

Diverse Women and The Me Too Movement

Balancing Cultural Expectations in Diverse Societies — Part One

Seconde Nimenya
Fourth Wave
Published in
3 min readSep 27, 2023

--

Photo by Mihai Surdu on Unsplash
  • Are diverse cultures on the same page when it comes to issues of sexual harassment?
  • Why has the MeToo Movement become the battle of the sexes in diverse cultures?
  • What can we do to balance cultural expectations in diverse societies?

These and more are some of the questions I often ask myself, especially when I’m talking about how different cultures perceive the women’s liberation movement.

In an interview on The Daily Show with Trevor Noah in 2022, Asian-American Actress Constance Wu shared her experiences of being sexually harassed by one of the producers of the TV show, Fresh Off the Boat in which she starred as Jessica Huang, the wife of Asian immigrant Louis Huang (played by Randall Park). I enjoyed that show so much that I never missed an episode when it was airing on the ABC channel.

One of the things Wu said in that interview that stuck with me was that she experienced sexual harassment at the hands of a man from the Asian-American community.

She said: “…He was always respectful of white and black women all around me. It was just to Asian women who weren’t in…

--

--

Seconde Nimenya
Fourth Wave

Author, leadership coach, personal development mentor, and advocate. I love to travel and share my journey with others. https://www.secondenimenya.com/