MINDSET HABITS

First World Problems

Recognizing Our Power and Privilege in Making an Impact

Seconde Nimenya
Fourth Wave
Published in
8 min readNov 6, 2023

--

A few years ago, a friend sent me a video titled First World Problems. After I watched it, I had mixed feelings.

I acknowledged how people perceive problems as being real problems, as opposed to not real ones. One such example was an African kid in the video reading one of the First World Problems as follows:

“I hate it when my phone charger won’t reach my bed.”

I was like, yeah!

I too hate it when my iPhone charger doesn’t reach my bed, even though my previous Samsung did. But instead of complaining about it, I got creative. At night when I’m charging my iPhone, I just put it on a box, plug it in the power outlet and miraculously, it reaches my nightstand! I know what real problems mean, and my cell phone not reaching my nightstand is not one of them.

I also know that, in one way or another, we all encounter problems that can be perceived as small, medium, or large.

The Pyramid of Needs

--

--

Seconde Nimenya
Fourth Wave

Author, leadership coach, personal development mentor, and advocate. I love to travel and share my journey with others. https://www.secondenimenya.com/