Fourth Wave is Getting a Boost!

And we’re excited to be able to nominate your stories for one, too

Patsy Fergusson
Fourth Wave

--

Photo by Luke Aguaita on Unsplash

I’m very excited to report that Fourth Wave will be inducted into the Boost Nomination Pilot Program on Sept. 1. What that means is we’ll be able to nominate stories for that magical Boost which delivers them to more readers across the platform. It’s a thrill and an honor to be part of a program that writers say is significantly increasing their impact and readers say is delivering better stories.

Having been on this platform since 2018, I’ve weathered a lot of changes here. But this is not one I’m going to be complaining about! I’m delighted that humans are being given more agency than the mysterious algorithm in deciding which stories get wider distribution; and I’ve personally had more success in reaching readers since Boost was implemented earlier this year. As my new BFF Tony Stubblebine said in his keynote and was the theme of Medium Day, “the time for human stories is now.”

So how does the Boost work?

I don’t get to wave a magic wand over any story I please and automatically get it placed in front of 500,000 readers, unfortunately. I would love a magic wand! What I can do is nominate a limited number of stories for consideration for Boosting. Then the human curation team at…

--

--

Patsy Fergusson
Fourth Wave

Tree hugger. Tour guide. Top Writer. Feminist. Newly-baptized Bay swimmer. Editor of Fourth Wave. https://medium.com/fourth-wave