POETRY | LIFE AND LIVING

I Really Want a Job

And a normal life with abnormal experiences

Harry R. Sinclair
Fourth Wave
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2024

--

I really want a job.
A job I can do at the job
and leave the job there
taking nothing home.
and I really want a home
one that’s mine and my wife’s,
one that’s calm and free and
not too broken but just enough to
D.I.Y

I want this home in a town too,
small enough to know who I know -
to share some milk with the neighbours
and know the barista’s name - but still
big enough to inspire
the kids we raise there.
One, Two or Three.
probably two you can’t leave one on its own
and who wants to be outnumbered?
Two kids to explore the town
and run around the home
and excite me to come back from work.
I want to make my kids proud,
and be proud of them,

--

--

Harry R. Sinclair
Fourth Wave

Philosophical writer who hasn’t lived nearly long enough to warrant being one.