POETRY | CREATIVITY

Ink & Typewriters

Pain, wounds, scars, cigars, guns and poetry

Pragya Chaturvedi
Fourth Wave

--

Image From Pexels

i was in pain,
my scars may not be presented to the world,
but i bled.
they might not have heard you pull the trigger,
but i was wounded.
the world might have been asleep
when you cut deeper into my wounds,
but i was screaming,
my scars,
bleeding.
my blood,
on your hands.
your hands,
wiping my blood off the floor.
the floor,
cold as body laid on it, maimed.
maimed i lay,
not thinking of what my mom will do after me
but thinking of an escape.
escape, I thought,
as i saw the gun lying on the floor.
i reached for the gun
and you rushed towards me,
AND I WOKE UP!

no,
not from a dream
but from my mind wandering off.
there was no gun,
only ink and a typewriter.
there was never a gun for me to escape,
only ink and a typewriter.
some smoked cigars,
some held knives,
some shot bullets,
some blamed it all on the world to escape,
but to escape
only ink and a typewriter was enough for me.

— Pragya Chaturvedi

For more of the good stuff, follow Fourth Wave. Have you got a story, essay, or poem that focuses on the complex world of creativity? Submit to the Wave!

--

--