My Older Female Boss Hates Me

When A Woman lives up to the worst Antifeminist Stereotpes

Rivka Wolf
Fourth Wave

--

https://www.deccanherald.com/sites/dh/files/styles/article_detail/public/article_images/2015/10/23/507932.gif?itok=IPOdVOzL

My boss is exactly 17 years older than me. Know how I know that? She told me.

My boss has exactly one Master’s degree. I know what her Master’s degree is in. I have memorized what her Master’s degree is in because she has mentioned said Master’s degree in every single conversation we have had.

I used to find this pitiful. Lately I have found this less pitiful. Lately I have found this more annoying.

A few weeks ago, when I was substantially more foolish and naive, I was under the impression that I could simply ignore this and it would go away. It seemed so foolish, after all. Obviously I did not think I was in competition with someone with decades more experience than I had. Obviously I was there to learn from her, not compete with her. Obviously.

Yeah, no. That’s not how she saw things going.

Rather than recognize that her war of attrition was being fought with only one participant, my supervisor took my silence as further indication that I was indeed the threat she believed I was. She began hinting more overtly at my inexperience (duh, I’m a freaking intern) and making ever-larger efforts to undermine whatever authority I did possess.

--

--