MARRIAGE

Not All Men Suck

You can be a feminist and still enjoy your marriage

Michelle Teheux
Fourth Wave
Published in
7 min readApr 11, 2024

--

Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I need to confess something.

I’m just going to come right out and say it: I’m married to a good guy and we’re happy together.

I know this makes people suspicious. I must be in denial. We have been told how bad marriage is for women. Divorce is trending; a barrage of popular anti-marriage books are out. (The Atlantic offers an overview of several recent ones.)

If you get married, critics say, expect him not to do his share of chores. You’ll have to cook and clean for him and take care of him. Having a husband is just like having another kid.

This hasn’t been my experience

It’s true that I do most of the cooking, but that’s because I love to cook and find it relaxing. But he’d do his share if I didn’t want to do it.

We don’t fight about housework because neither of us cares about having a perfectly neat home. If I insisted on everything being spotless, I’d have to do more housework and I’m not willing to. We have a messy house unless someone is coming over, and then we both panic clean until the doorbell rings.

It’s fine.

Define freedom

--

--

Michelle Teheux
Fourth Wave

Lover of literature. Former newspaper editor. Fascinated by everything. Contact: michelleteheux@gmail.com. To buy me a coffee: https://ko-fi.com/michelleteheux