Oh Canada, You No Longer Hold My Heart As You Did

I couldn’t even bring myself to sing the National Anthem

Catherine Oceano
Fourth Wave

--

A view of a small Canadian town taken from the St. Lawrence seaway. A large church and some houses dot the shore as well as bright red leafy trees
An eastern Canada town viewed from the St. Lawrence seaway. Photo credit: Dave Gilbert, author’s husband

The other day we attended my daughter’s college graduation. It was overall a happy occasion. However, something different occurred for me during this auspicious ceremony. When it came time to stand and join the other hundreds gathered there to sing the national anthem, I found that I could not raise my voice. I watched the crowd around me, many of whom sang along. This would have been me in the past.

No longer. I used to be so very proud of my country. I felt we were a balanced place with values I believed in. I’m one of those who sometimes felt tears in my eyes when our flag was raised, when the opening sounds of our song played. Not quite the hand on my heart as many Americans do when their anthem begins, but a close second.

This time I felt sadness and shame.

It’s not that there is one specific event that has made me feel this way. And it’s not the first time I’ve been disenchanted. Decades ago my husband and I considered relocating with our then young family to New Zealand. I went to the trouble of phoning the consulate. There was no internet back then. Researching was much different. But we didn’t go. And now we are too old with far too many ties to this place even if a country we felt…

--

--

Catherine Oceano
Fourth Wave

old but not dead, mother, partner, grandmother, writer, Canadian Become a Medium member and support great writers like me.